In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

There is an increasingly number of local stores closing due to the fact that shoppers are choosing to buy in bigger places, even though they need to travel a larger distance for that. However, for the closing stores that is a drawback, from the customer point of view this is unavoidable. With a growing community, it also comes different shopping options, which in long term is more beneficial. Buying from small local stores is becoming less common, however, there is still the need to go to local stores, to buy immediate essentials, a medicine that it is unpredictable to be needed or a food missed from a recipe that will be made before the next big shopping. There is also a concern that, with those closures the economy will also be affected with lower business numbers and decimated money rotation. Nevertheless, the small buys made on local shops are not enough to sustain them there. People are inclined to go shopping once a month and buy their needs in a mall instead of going to the neighborhood shop more often, and spend money and time there. Despite the considerably less money spent whilst shopping in one store at a big centre, the temptation to spend money in others, non-essential items, are more likely to happen. For instance, going to a supermarket inside a mall, gives you plenty of visual incentives to browse for clothes, house items and other appliances that was not on the original shopping list. Researches has shown that the replacement in kitchen appliances has increased 20% in houses where people choose to buy in shopping centres. In conclusion, the fact that, people are opting to go shop in large centres has more advantages than trying to maintain small stores functioning. The alternative for those small business to survive from closing is migrate to another forms of providing services, such as, online business or selling their items to those large companies.