Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty. Others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some individuals that the reason behind people committing crimes is because of societal issues and financial conditions. Others say that the offender’s wrong mentality is the sole cause. While in some cases crime happen due to the poor attitude of a person which make them believe that acting violently will show them powerful, improving their existing situations seem to be the real reason behind this. On the one hand, it is a common belief among few individuals that breaking the law would show them tough in society. They believe that by doing this they can become the reason for people to fear them and this will gain them popularity in their area. Many street boys in Australia, for example, are often seen arguing unnecessarily with others passing by, and they think that this would prevent those from coming again near that space. Despite this, I believe overcoming their present economic background is the actual ground for this behaviour. The major idea behind wrongful acts is to raise financial standards. Many culprits start crimes by stealing things from people or shops and this is because they want to have food and other basic amenities for themselves and their families. In addition to this, the increasing population deprive many people of possessing jobs as there are limited vacancies to the excessive applicants, and therefore for running their errands they chose the path of crime to support their life. For example, the survey by Indian Central Agencies state that 6 out of 10 convicted committed illegal acts to pay their bills and admit their children to schools. In conclusion, although some people owing to their negative mindsets perform criminal activities in order to mark their name in society, most of them want to obtain a better life than their present one and to support their families.