A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old – fashioned values such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is generally considered that, In the modern era, The true value of someone is observed by the money and status that they hold and the inner abilities like honesty and truthfulness are not counted now as compared to older times. I largely disagree with the notion because Internal abilities are crucial for self-satisfaction and it makes relationships stronger. To begin with, Moral values are important because they are priceless and nobody can purchase them. Moreover, they make people more confident in social life. In other words, if someone is never dishonest and treats everyone with kindness and respect, they would have that status in society which money would never get. It makes people mentally strong and more self-confident because they do not make wrong decisions. For instance, One of my uncles is very respectful in our family because he never did mischief with anyone and everyone always looks after him. Hence, Old fashioned values are still vital for everyone. Another major fact is, They build a strong bond of internal and external relationships. To explain it, internal quality like honesty makes people trust us, whether it is on work or family and this brings respect from the community. For example, In New Zealand, a person forgot his wallet in a taxi which contains 2000 dollars cash. instead of keeping it, the taxi driver returned his money and his act was praised all over the news with huge respect in the country. Therefore, having good moral values still makes a huge impact on a person's life. In contrast, Some young generation crowd are after those who live a luxurious life in the city. These kinds of people have no life standards and keep changing from one person to another. In conclusion, having luxurious life is good for someone but it doesn't make any big status. On the other hand, people with good manners and values are still given respect in society.