The development of tourism contributed to english becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to english becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world.

It is thought by some that globalisation would cause languages disappear, leading to only one language spoken in the world. There are a few benefits as well as drawbacks to this development. One evident advantage of having only one language is that it improves the quality of education. The language barrier is one of the major causes of miscommunication between people from different backgrouds. Therefore, if people spoke the same language, they could avoid conflict stemming from differences in languages. Japanese, for instance, is characterised by the use of ambiguous phrases, which often confuses people skeaking languages such as English. Another plus point of the mono- language world is that it removes the need to learn another language. This is highly beneficial to individuals relocating to another country as it enables them to save time, money and effort to acquire a second language. For example, students studying abroad would be able to focus on developing the expertise in their chosen field. One global language, on the other hand, brings some disadvantaegs to the world, one of which is the loss of culture. Undoubtedly, language and culture are closely connected, which inevitably means that the disappearance of one language is accompanied the culture in which it is used. For this reason, having one global language presents a risk of hindering development in society as diversity plays a crucial role in solving complex social and environmental issues. A good example of this is the well-known space agency NASA, which started hiring recruits from diverse linguistic backgrounds in order to achieve greater goals. Moreover, the loss of languages would result in a decline in tourism. Learning another language and interacting with the local residents brings joy to many individuals across the globe. The disappearance of languages, therefore, deprives such people of the motivation to travel abroad. A large portion of foreigners visit Japan to become able to read manga in the original language. In conclusion, mono-linguistic world benefits people in terms of communication and convenience, but also contributes to the loss of cultural diversity. It is crucial that the world strive to ensure healthy development of society.