Obesity is an increasing problem in today’s society. Some people say that the government should put our tax on fast foods in order to solve this problem. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and then give your own opinion.

There has been an alarming rate of obesity in these days, henceforth, many are suggesting that the government put higher tax on junk foods. This essay examines its drawbacks as well as its benefits and my perspective, being that it is not sensible to higher the price of these food. It is a foregone conclusion that there are various advantages when taxes are put on fast foods. More specifically, this actions would decrease the excessive amount of that type of food consumption, thereby reducing the possibility of obesity. To illustrate, whenever the consumers think of having a meal at convenience food ’s stores, the exorbitantly high price would discourage them. Instead, with the same amount of money needed for purchasing those, the citizens could a wider choice of healthy food. By enacting this legislation, not only will the residents consume less unhealthy food, but they are also incentivized to lead a more healthy lifestyle. On the other hand, that approach also comes with a variety of limitations. As fast food is one of the most economical source of nutritions, families coming from an underprivileged background could not afford anything to eat. More importantly, putting a higher tax means that the fast food chains would suffer from extremely lower income, henceforth, it would be challenging for the industry to make a living. Consequently, this would put a strain on the world’s economy as a whole. In conclusion, there are benefits and drawbacks when putting a tax on this type of food. From my perspective, however, this solution is not as sensible as it may sound due to the dramatic pressure on the world’s economy.