Surveillance cameras in bank, offices, shops and streets have been very successful in reducing crime in the work place and in public, but they are also a tool for their users to spy on people’s private business. What problems do the use of Surveillance cameras create? Are there any solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

Nowadays, CCTV cameras have been used for the express purpose of security. In many metropolitans,areas surveillance cameras are on increased to serve as a tool to reduce crime. However, some argued that these encroach upon the public’s liberty. The use of such cameras can result in such minor problems but these problems could be overcome by following proper rules and regulations, and in a broader vision these devices are more fruitful for the public. To start with, it is argued that the installation of public surveillance devices has negative effects on dwellers, they invade the privacy of the individuals. For instance, when you are walking down the street and hanging out with your friends it makes full pictures of your private life and you are constantly being watched by authorities. Moreover, the recorded videos might be misused. For example, an individual’s pictures could be stolen or may be used for other purposes like sharing on the internet. A citizen has a right to move freely and enjoy their privacy. On the other hand, I believe that installing more surveillance cameras are beneficial for public safety. By monitoring public areas the rate of crime would be diminished. For instance, petty criminals like shoplifters are less likely to operate in areas of the city where they know that they are being watched. In conclusion placement of CCTV or video cameras have overweight advantages than disadvantages and these technologies help in decreasing the crime rate.