The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that one of the best ways to mitigate global environmental issues is to raise the fuel cost. While I agree that this may contribute to improving environmental problems, I think that there are many other ways to tackle this situation. National authorities should raise the fuel cost. Firstly, by increasing the cost of fuel, governments will ensure that people use their vehicles less. So, there will be a reduction in the amount of carbon dioxide discharged into the atmosphere. Thus, this contributes to slowing global warming and fighting climate change. Secondly, natural sources of energy such as fossil fuels are exhausted and the decline in using private cars may help to conserve natural energy. However, some effective measures can be adopted to alleviate global environmental issues. The most important thing is that the restrictions on private vehicles must be high on the government agenda in all countries. For example, the congestion charge in London has improved the quality of air in recent years. Secondly, the governments should allocate resources to the development of alternative resources to power motor vehicles and machinery in factory production. Finally, as part of the effort to achieve sustainable development, international cooperation to share scientific knowledge and advances in technology should be a top priority. This would range across issues such as the exploitation of renewable energy, marine conservation, and the reclamation of agricultural land. In conclusion, although raising the cost of fuel would be a welcome measure, more effective steps are required to deal with a wide range of global environmental issues.