Write a minimum of 250 words. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The digital media platforms are gaining more popularity with the rise in the use of the internet. Although it helps news to spread faster & reach out to wider populations, it is also increasing the spread of fake information as well as pulling people towards wrong deeds. This essay will discuss in the forthcoming paragraphs both the views and will explain that why the benefits surpass the drawbacks. On the one hand, usage of the numerous social media platforms helps to transmit information rapidly & widely. Hence, it increases the general awareness of people. For example, the Olympics games have a number of events that are often not possible for the citizens to follow. Increasing use of digital sources facilitate the spread of this information to various parts of the country. Henceforth, it attracts the younger generations towards these sports, and it increases the awareness. On the other hand, it also increases the spread of unreal facts as well as sometimes attract people towards wrong doings. Hence, it is crucial that we use these mediums wisely. For instance, the spreading of a fake visual of a fight between a Hindu and a Muslim friend in some part of the globe often created unrest in different parts of the world. Thus, it is vital that we do not trust anything that we see, and we should judge them rationally or from other sources before trusting it. To conclude, in my opinion, merits of this outweigh the demerits. This is mainly because humankind is getting all crucial information swiftly as well as it is reaching out to broader populations. Hence, we should use them more responsibly.