Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

These days more and more students choose to study in foreign countries rather than continuing their education in a motherland. From the beginning, this tendency leads only to benefits for exchanging countries and students as well. However, there are also negative aspects that should be considered. This essay will reveal both sides of international education. To begin with benefits, it is really prestigious for a region to educate as many international pupils as possible since it encourages its respect in the world arena. The United States demonstrates a perfect pattern of a country with a high bar in the number of internal universities attracting pupils from all over the world. Above all, pupils who decide to study abroad acquire a lot of new skills and knowledge while living outside their homes. Not only does it improve their second language knowledge, but provides good research of other cultures. For example, I personally have experienced an exchange program with South Korea. Unfortunately, I encountered the language barrier, but it got easier and easier to communicate with the locals over the exchange period. Moreover, I got in touch quite closely with Korean culture trying their cuisine and visiting a variety of sightseeing. As a result, it improved my personal outlook. Despite all the pros named earlier, I still can think of some negative outcomes of such education. The first one is manifested when individuals leaving the homeland and finishing university overseas are less likely to go back home. That in turn, leads to an outflow of “brains” from a particular country. In Russia,young people tend to leave their native cities as soon as they graduate from school. And it raises the second disadvantage - separation from family. For instance, a friend of mine once won a scholarship and I have never seen her in Russian again after her departure neither her family did. In conclusion, I would say that since the interest of getting knowledge abroad generally has grown considerably over the past few years more and more people decide to move overseas. On the one hand,it brings an individual's self-development and, furthermore, turns an educational region into a high-class institution. But on the other hand, left countries endure the loss of potential specialists and commonly scholars themselves suffer from breaking up relationships with their relatives because of the distance.