Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case?

We are living in the digital age, wherein we spend long hours on the web and hence social media is slowly becoming the preferred medium for many. While there are many merits for this, there are certain demerits as well. I strongly believe that such a meteoric rise of this medium is not good for society. I'll describe the pros and cons of this, and show why the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, in this essay. First of all, the internet gives anonymity, empowering folks to behave badly. Furthermore, being anonymous gives an advantage to these people, to engage in cyber-bullying. For instance, there are many Twitter trolls who target the vulnerable. Secondly, due to the lack of censorship online, such mediums have become breeding grounds for hate speech. Anyone with an account can spew violent and hateful rhetoric, sometimes inciting violence. One clear example of this is how Facebook is utilized to spread hateful misinformation and encourage violence. On the other hand, some people think that the internet will give them a viable career. While it is true to some extent that it is easier to get exposure, fame and money through social media, making it a full-time job is not that simple. In other words, anyone can have fifteen minutes of fame through this, but converting it into a paying job is nearly impossible. In conclusion, I strongly believe that this medium has a lot of issues, which are far more compared to its merits. Before one considers a career in this, they have to know that even though they get fame and money, they will lose their privacy, they will become targets of trolls and also will be facing heavy competition in the industry.