Some today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The internet has made the world small, even our classrooms have shrunk into online meetings. It is the opinion of some people that traditional schools are no longer required since the internet offers a myriad of resources. They argue that homeschooling is better. I strongly disagree with this view, I feel that kids need to have a proper school setup. I'll describe the reasons for my view in this essay. First of all, educating kids at home is not an easy feat. Obviously, youngsters have many distractions in the house. For instance, many youngsters nowadays own gaming consoles, prying the controllers away from them and making them study instead, is a huge task. Secondly, not everybody is qualified to educate their children. They are either unaware of how to teach or busy with their own work. One clear example is, if both of them are working, they will find it strenuous to spend time teaching and checking the progress of their kid. On the other hand, the convenience that comes with educating the child in the house and a false sense of security of having the kid around all the time, are some reasons why parents consider this approach. Indeed, the child is safer when at home and parents taking an active role in teaching is easier than sending the child to school. Consequently, the youngsters will miss developing the important social skills they need to be good citizens. In conclusion, while there are some advantages in educating children at home with the aid of the internet, there are many disadvantages to this approach. While people supporting homeschooling cite convenience and safety as their main concerns, there are counterpoints to this, like kids growing up without social skills, parents who are not qualified to teach and distractions in the household. In my opinion, education from the house cannot be considered as a replacement to school.