Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as the older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say local authorities should allow people to build houses in the style of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the dawn of the 21st century, humans have achieved gigantic feet in engineering and architecture where this advancement has influenced the construction of houses, apartments and townships. As a result, a stratum of people argues that residential buildings should be built by preserving traditional aesthetics; however, I opine that these properties should be constructed by incorporating modern styles and technology. On the surface, diversity in design will distort the uniformity of landscape in towns and major metropolitan cities. For instance, one of the world’s most walkable cities, Paris featuring Haussmann apartment buildings, which obey various architectural rules such as height, number of floors, construction materials used, etcetera, became the symbol of the city’s traditional charm. Moreover, this type of uniform building pattern will help fire services to douse the fire easily because of the city’s uniform planning. Furthermore, this might prevent individuals from designing houses that are environmentally sustainable. On the other hand, rapid development in technology has led to more efficient and better construction materials. For example, the current technology allows the production of windows that come in different sizes, and modern apartments take full advantage of this by presenting large windows, which makes the interior space open and airy. Additionally, contemporary buildings feature solar rooftops, rainwater harvesting and bio-waste compost, which were not common in previous century shelters, that have become a necessity in this era to tackle and reduce carbon footprints. Hence, authorities should support people with freedom so that they tend to indulge in the latest trends and designs to fulfil their preferences. In conclusion, although constructing homes in an unvarying style will enable uniformity, I strongly believe that such establishments should be built by adopting advanced technologies for a sustainable environment.