Some people think the government should support artists like painters, musicians, and poets, while others believe this wastes money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In many countries, artists like painters, musicians, and poets are a pivotal part of society. Some people argue that, if the government supports them, then that would be a waste of resources. I believe artists should be given as much support as is required for them to grow. On the one hand, those who believe that artists should not be supported often point to the fact that the government should utilise those resources to focus more on strengthening the country, such as building new houses and supporting local communities. For instance, the Indian government has increased the taxes on artistic work, and they are using that money to support people, who needs fund for buying new property. While this perspective has some validity, it overlooks the negative impact on young and upcoming artists. On the other hand, I find that if the government starts investing more in artists, it will bring more creativity in country. Moreover, the young generation will take extra interest in such kind of artisitic work. For example, in 2025, Japan reduced the taxes on artistic work, and they saw 30% increase in creativity among young people, who eventually painted the streets with breathtaking visuals. This resulted in 20% increased in tourism. It is for this reason that I align myself with this perspective. In conclusion, both viewpoints have merit. I believe that artists like painters, musicians and poets should be given extra support, which will bring creativity in country and will spark creativity in the young people.