Some people think children have the freedom to make mistakes, while other people believe that adults should prevent children from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are different attitudes towards making mistakes. Whether or not parents should give sufficient freedom for children to make mistakes has been a hot topic. Both side of the argument will be discussed in this essay before an appropriate conclusion is given. Firstly, what the opposing side of the debate is always arguing is that preventing children from making mistakes will shape them to be more self-disciplined. For example, a friend of mine, who was taught to avoid mistakes in every aspect of life, has a very high standard for herself. What is more, she always makes detailed plans and carefully checks her work before submitting. Therefore, children who were told not to make mistakes may be more likely to make academic achievements, like what she does in schoolwork. Controversially, it could also be argued that parents should allow children to make some mistakes so that children can be more self-esteemed, which is the point that I tent to believe. Using myself as an example, I was told not to be afraid of mistakes when I was very young. Thus, I became quite brave and confident expressing my own ideas. Moreover, I am always enthusiastic in challenging myself, which allows me to make progress from time to time. Hence, it is supported that children who are encouraged not to fear mistakes tend to be bolder and more confident. In conclusion, both allowing and discouraging children to make mistakes could have benefits in their development. However, I tend to believe that parents should encourage children not to be afraid of making mistakes, since children who was brought up in this way will have better performance when confronting challenges. Furthermore, I think making mistakes will become more acceptable in the future.