Ordinary people copy famous people whom they see on TV and magazines. Do you think it is a positive development?

TV and magazines play an important role in our daily life. These are meant to provide information and entertainment to their viewers. With their vast reach nowadays they have evolved into our daily lifestyle and ordinary people generally tend to follow famous people and celebrities being shown through this media. I believe this is largely a negative development. The major negative aspect of this development is that people are attracted by and follow the glamorous side of these people, which is portrayed more. As a result, ordinary people follow famous personalities based on their looks only and not based on the work they do, the success they have achieved or their contribution to society. For example, if their favourite celeb has 6 pack abs, they also try to achieve such a body, and to do so quickly, they have to consume a lot of unhealthy supplements, which may not be good for them. Some girts even stop eating altogether to get the size zero figure of their role model. What they fail to realise is that these celebs spend hours in the gym every day to get that sort of figure. Another negative effect of this development is that if these celebs drink or smoke in public, the common people think it is a sort of status symbol and do the same. They also want to achieve the comfortable lifestyle and costly cars and other such possessions without doing the hard work required to achieve such status. As a result, petty crime incidences are often seen. On the positive side, these celebs sometimes motivate people to do good things and not let any setbacks in their life lead them to go into depression. The encouragement given by celebrated people can help them to overcome such situations to achieve success and help others also. For example, a famous Indian celeb Deepika Padukone told people how she fought her depression in a youtube interview. Many people were really motivated by it and learnt ways to come out of their depression. To sum up, it is true that people tend to copy famous people who are glamourized by the media. I firmly believe that it is more negative than a positive development. People should not follow these celebs blindly. They should be realistic and follow only the good things of these celebs.