Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that the unemployed individuals who receive benefits from the country authoriries should volunteer to give back to the society they live in. I would like to agree with this statement and my essay will discuss the reasons why this is necessary. Firstly, I believe that unemployment can affect an individual in a negative manner, making them more lethargic and lazy. Since they receive regular aid from the government, they choose to continue doing nothing rather than putting their efforts towards a noble cause. Furthermore, some people tend engage themselves in malpractices such as drugs and even participate in criminal activities to pass their free time. This situation tends to affect their families and neighbourhood imensely. Secondly, it is seen that if an individual decides to volunteer to serve the community by giving back, it benefits both, the person as well as the society, for the better. By stepping forward, one can, eventually, build additional skill sets which can be of advantage to them for any future job opportunities. Having occupied in doing some work or the other will further motivate them to search for any potential jobs. For example, people who are engaged in volunteer activities tend to grow as an individual and become a better human. To conclude, the unemployed receining government assisatnce should volunteer to serve the society. I believe that volunteering not only helps build a responsible human but at the same time reduce crime in the society.