Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

We are living in a democratic society where each and every individual has the right to make their own choices. It is important that people should understand the consequences that will arise from the choice that they make. Additionally, citizens need to analyze the options available and make the right choice. Different people will have varied opinions on level of freedom that must be given to the children in making their choice. Some believe that children must be allowed to take decisions by themselves that impacts them on long run. For example, students must be allowed to make their own decision in which field they want to pursue their education. Parents or relatives should not force them. “Today’s children are tomorrow’s citizens”, as the famous line says, children can develop their skills in their interested domain. Forcing the children to pursue career in the field that they are not interested in, will be like forcing Sachin Tendulkar to pursue MBBS, rather than playing cricket. However a significant number of people believe that allowing youth to make their own decisions in everyday aspect will increases the individuality, thereby developing a selfish attitude. For instance, if a group of friends went to a restaurant, at the time of ordering food, each one will have their own choice and no one will compromise as they got habituated for choosing their own interest. Definitely, it will result in increasing distance between the friends. However, this might not be the only case, once if citizens got accustomed to the lifestyle of choosing their own interest, varied number of situations will appear in a similar way. Finally, to conclude, yes, it is recommended to allow children to make their own decisions, but it is rather crucial to understand up to which level they must be allowed to choose their own interest. Sometimes, it is better to make them compromise in certain things which will have negative impact in the future.