Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that spending money on railways by governments is more beneficial than roads. While I agree with this idea, I think that roads shouldn’t be ignored because they are important too. There are several reasons why I agree with getting more budget on railways rather than roads. Firstly, trains have more space and so they can transfer more people as compared with cars or even buses. For example, there are just 4 seats in a car or 42 in a bus, but trains have more than 100 seats. Secondly, using trains can help to decrease the traffic jam and finally, it can lead to a reduction of air pollution in the cities caused by CO2 emissions. We create carbon dioxide emissions every time we drive a car and it lasts around a century in the atmosphere. If we use trains instead of four-wheel-drive cars, we may have less polluted air, particularly in winters. On the other hand, we need safe roads too and they shouldn’t be abandoned by governments. Sometimes people prefer to travel by their car to have more privacy or they do have not enough time and they need to get to their destination as soon as possible. If the roads aren’t safe enough to drive in, there would be an increase in car accidents which is a disaster. Moreover, accessibility by cars to some areas is easier than by trains. Some rural places do not have train stations therefore people are more comfortable driving a car to get there. In conclusion, I believe that although spending money on railways has more environmental advantages, but governments shouldn’t ignore the safety of roads and consider a budget for them too.