Some people think that the best way for the government to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?2017.1.21 2014.1.9

Nowadays, some people suggest that the government offering free transport every minute of every week would effectively solve traffic jams. Personally, I totally disagree with this suggestion. It is understandable to give this suggestion; it encourages people rather than private vehicles to take public transport to reduce traffic volume, especially during the rush hour. However, carrying out this policy means there is no income for the government on public transport, which leads the government to raise the taxes to cover the employee salaries and keep public transport running free of charge. Hence, the pressure has transferred to the taxpayers to charge extra, which not everybody is willing to do so. At the same time, it is a waste of resources and time to let public transport work freely every moment, which does not help with traffic congestion at all. Fewer people are using public transport during midnight and working hours. It is pointless to run all public transport during the night, as it may cause increasing carbon emissions and light pollution. In the long term, the damage to nature is enormous. The importance that has been neglected all the time is the prize is not the determining factor that affects people ’s choice of transport. People would like to focus more on convenience, sanitation, and how comfortable they feel. For example, compare the price of a single ticket to people ’s total income it is relatively cheap in general, enough to make people affordable. Instead, it is a sensible choice to add more routes or trips during rush hours. To sum up, I totally disagree with this suggestion, not only because of the tax raise but also because of the huge impact on human natural society, which is irreversible. Besides, some solutions, such as adding more routes or trips to dissolve the huge population during rush hours.