As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea that, besides earning money, firms should have public responsibilities, remains a source of controversy. While I agree that firms should focus on their businesses, I believe that they could have a duty to society. There are many reasons why firms should maximise their profits. The most important reason is that firms can use their capital to expand their productions. By doing so, these companies can create more job opportunities for local people and contribute to improving the quality of life in some areas in the next years. Another reason is that the higher profits companies earn, the more taxes they pay to the government. Thus, authorities can have more revenue to spend on key fields, including agriculture and medical care. However, companies should have social duties. Firstly, production processes have resulted in serious environmental issues such as air and water pollution. For example, the irresponsible discharge of chemical wastes into rivers has polluted water sources, leaving a legacy of cancer deaths in the future. Therefore, companies should install waste treatment systems to solve chemical wastes before discharging them into rivers. Secondly, by participating in philanthropic actions, enterprises can enhance their public image. For instance, big corporations such as Vinamilk and Coca Cola should launch campaigns to help those who are less fortunate, provide scholarships and give charitable donations. Through these activities, companies can not only promote their image but also raise their sales figures. In conclusion, although making profits is one of the most fundamental principles when a company conducts their businesses, I think that they should have public responsibilities.