Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In order to gain access to the software, most people prefer to give their personal information to these firms. This essay argues that despite the main advantage of this is to get the cost-free use of an application; I believe that there are more disadvantages as this would cause misusing of particulars. The biggest benefit of providing personal data to IT companies is that people can have access to the product without paying. This is to say that cost of many software’s are in hundreds of dollars and everyone can not afford to pay that amount. As a result, individuals agree to share their information with the company by filling the sign-up form to get free usage of the tool. For example, by fill-up the sign-up form of the JIRA Testing tool, men and women could use the basic version of the application, which helps them to aware of the functionality. However, sharing of data to software firms could cause cybercrime and misutilization of information provided. The major drawback of giving data to companies is that it could be misused. This implies that when people share their piece of info with companies and if it leaked then there would be high chances of misusing of info by illegal persons. This may lead to many problems like hacking of your email id and system, for illegal activities. For Instance, in India, many cyber cases are reported, where people hack the personal email id to get the bank details of the person and make transactions. Therefore, this essay believes that sharing details with the IT industries has many drawbacks. In conclusion, although the primary advantage of giving details to the technological industry is free to use of an application, I believe that this would lead to misusage of particulars for criminal activity.