Some people say that the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money. How might having a lot of money make people happy? What other things in life can make people happy?

Happiness is often gauged by the amount of money you gather. There is an old saying which states " Money can't buy happiness". Though this might not hold true for some folks like a lot of money is symbolic of joy in their life. Analysing how capital helps boost materialistic satisfaction and caters to the never-ending greed of earning better than the rest will help us understand this. Firstly,a lot of money can buy the luxury people dream of.It promotes the idea of building one's status in society. For instance, most of the luxury brands exploit their customer's urge to stand out in society by owning their expensive product, which would help promote the idea of exclusiveness among the buyers. population nowadays associate their prosperity and success with owning such products, over the years these products have become life goals for a lot of people. Hence having a lot of money is considered to be the way to be happy in life. Secondly,we are part of an era where this race to accumulate more and more money is never-ending. Humans now feel accomplished only when they earn higher than their counterparts. Success in these cases is often measured by the wealth you gather. For example, we consider someone as our role model if they are rich, that's our idea of success. A poor person is hardly anyone's role model. Thus, having a lot of money satiates a lot of people further making them elated. In the nutshell, we humans have linked a lot of materialistic things to our joy and prosperity and therefore having a lot of money is often linked to elation. However, I think the real happiness lies with happy moments we spend with our loved one's, the experiences we gather by travelling and following our passion.In the absence of such moments, we might satiate our ego but not our heart.