In order to truly innovate, continued hard work is more important than intelligence. To what extent do you agree with this statement and why?

Consistent hard work is considered plays more vital role in innovation in comparison to intelligence.I partially agree with the above notion to a great extent and the reason for my partial agreement is discussed in the following paragraphs. On one side, the reason why hard work is given more preference than smart work when it comes to innovation is because innovation requires multiple attempts of certain process to reach the objective in which the intelligence of an innovator may not be that crucial. In other words, innovation is entirely transforming the existing product or technology in which a certain road map is followed by innovators. The planning may require too much of intelligence, however, after a plan is designed the majority of work and the achivability achievability of success rely upon the uninterrupted and continues hardwork of innovators. To exemplify, the plan and objective to introduce a curved display smartphones was defined in year 2016 which was just a 10% part of innovation. The engineering team on the other hand, despite multiple fail attempts worked dedicatedly for 4 years to successfully develop its prototype in year 2020. Hence, although the intelligence may play some initial role in innovation, the hardwork involved is certainly more important. On the other hand, there might be some instances where the hardwork becomes less essential than intelligence for innovations. In other words, there are few instances such as the innovation of existing covid-19 vaccine which could protect against latest variants. There were inexperienced scientists involved in that innovation which did not bring any optimistic results despite their hardwork, however, when replaced with more intelligent and experienced scientists, it did not take more than a month to introduct a vaccine named Covishield which was a life saver innovation for India. Therefore, in certain cases the intelligence becomes more important than worthless hardwork. To conclude, although the achievement of innovation is heavily relies upon the hardwork, the intelligence in few instances becomes more important than just working hard.