In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is a common phenomenon that the creation of commodities is the emphasis while promoting to customers. This happens due to several reasons, and I think it is a relatively negative trend. In this essay, I will explain the reasons and my opinion with examples. First of all, the main reason why the unique points of products become the main focus is the need of promoting items. This is because contemporary consumers are easier to be attracted by unusual features rather than other selling points such as quality and prices while there are countless options in the market. Additionally, with the rapid expansion of a market -oriented economy, manufacturers have not much choice but to follow this trend to produce creative and outstanding new goods. For instance, as the pioneer of the market, Tesla has proven that electric vehicles can be desirable, combining outstanding performance and high-tech interiors with a usable driving range. Undoubtedly, its new-energy cars have become the biggest selling record among the similar products in the world. Furthermore, another reason is that manufacturers try to cover up any drawbacks of the item by shifting focus on new features. It is not strange to see some commodities are high in price but low in quality nowadays, since the companies of these products spend a large percentage of cost on marketing the new features of items and try to camouflage the shortcoming. Taking Tesla as the example again, the Model 3 was reported brake failure in difficult situations like rainy days in China’s market this year. However, the owner of Tesla Elon Musk avoided any specific mention of the Chinese market, in an apparent attempt to brush its public relations crisis under the carpet while releasing record first -quarter earnings in April 2021. In my opinion, this trending brings more disadvantages than advantages. Because I always believe that quality of the item should be the priority above others. Even though new features may easily trigger the public’s attention to pay for the products, duration and excellent condition should be emphasised more. In conclusion, there are two reasons why new features are far more concentrated than other aspects of a new commodity, including the requirement of boosting sales and the cover-up of deficiencies. Personally speaking, I count this situation as a negative development.