In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In many parts of the world, young people joining the workforce or travelling right before their orientation in university is a common phenomenon. The various outcomes of it like the lesson of pragmatism and self-assessment which are favourable for young people, whereas many derail from their goals and fall into depression. On one hand, working or wandering in the transition period after high school renders immense benefit to the young people. Firstly, they participate in real- life perspectives to become self-sufficient which helps them to know the practical world beyond the border of theoretical knowledge. In such a way they unravel the actual world around them which was full of infatuation and illusion to them before. Moreover, they learn their own self in this way, which is quite imperative to prosper in life. For example, a student working in a garage or a restaurant could assess his strength and weakness regarding different perspectives like people skills, management competency. For these benefits, the trend of exploring work or place before joining university has become a suitable trend around the world. On the other hand, when young people complete high school, they remain amateur, for which it becomes quite intricate for them to choose the right way in their life. Without having a proper mentor, they usually derail from their goals. Many young people, for instance, despite having enormous potential, do no join university or continue their studies. Additionally, many of them, having been exposed to an unencouraging working environment, get frustrated and tend to escape from life. After losing self-confidence at that tender age these people rarely come back to the right track of life. In conclusion, although there are several positive outcomes of young people joining the workforce or having wanderlust after high-school graduation, risk factors of this trend should also be considered. Therefore, adultescents around young people should always extend their hand to help them.