Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Art and craft are slowly changing the contemporary world to a more vibrant reality. While some people believe that the government should aid artistic professionals, however, I believe that artists should be funded in other alternative ways. Firstly, it could be argued that if a government provides financial support to painters and musicians it can help in preserving ancient art and promote the younger generation to indulge in artistic occupation. There is much evidence that the vast majority of the population is choosing science-based career choices which result in fewer individuals practising art and crafts. To illustrate, the Indian government has announced few schemes to encourage adolescents to choose artistic subjects as mainstream, Apart from these multiple heritage sites are filled with paintings done by a well-known Indian painter which later attracts a lot of appraisal from the citizens. Thus, the legislative bodies should fund the artists in order to preserve ancient art. However, I believe that there are more arguments to support that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources as it gives higher monetary value as well as a reputation in the industry. Although it might be argued that artists reputation emerges from the value of work, however, I believe the auction for any mediocre craft also creates fame in the industry for the artists as bidding inclines. For instance, many painters with only limited landscape or scenery drawings are on headlines as their work has been sold in millions. In my opinion, painters and musicians should be given monetary support from other income sources as they get huge lump sums for their work whereas government aid is very little when compared to those. To conclude, although it is undeniable that having the government push towards craft and music can give recognition and also encourage youth to participate and choose art as an occupational option,the monetary value and reputation that gets created by alternative funding sources are far better than the government funds. Therefore, on balance, I believe that artists should be funded by other sources as they tend to pay more.