In many countries, people live longer and longer. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Humans are mortal beings. In parts of the globe, the development of the medical sciences enabled mankind to survive longer. Although this help the younger generation to learn more values, as well as the older people, can provide their valuable inputs about numerous things, frequently they struggle due to the illness caused by old age and they find it challenging to cope up with the dynamic environment around them. On the one hand, the increase in the lifespan of humankind certainly facilitates young boys and girls to learn about a number of traditions & the ways of living. Moreover, they become our go to person for any suggestions that we need. This is mainly due to the fact that their experience imparts us to learn & take decisions swiftly. For example, being born and brought up in a city, I was not aware of the harvest festival that the farmers celebrate in the village. My grandmother explained to me that, and till today we celebrate the auspicious day in our home. Similarly, she was always there to handhold my parents to deal with any major challenges that are coming their way. Henceforth, it is crucial that we get the influence of elderly people in our life. Conversely, they frequently become the victim of mental illness, as well as sometimes it becomes extremely difficult for them to get habituated with the changing society. As we are in an era of digitalization and innovation; thus, they find it difficult to come out of their comfort zone and acknowledge the change. For instance, the social structure of the family is changing and we are moving towards the concept of the nuclear family. Henceforth, they are not getting appropriate care as well as missing their own children with whom they can talk. Thus, they feel neglected. Besides that, payments using various platforms complicated the process for them; hence, making them stressed. Therefore, these generations consider living for long is not beneficial for them. To conclude, in my opinion, the merits of this surpass the demerits. This is mainly due to the fact that their teachings, life-lessons are vital for the growth of our universe. Hence, we should care for them so that we all can co-exist together.