A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that a person’s value is judged by their social status and belongings or not. Although I agree that their value is judged by their social status on some occasions, I think that their personality, such as honour, kindness is also crucial factor to consider a person. On the one hand, social rating and material possessions are definitely used to judge a person, especially when people are looking for their partners or boyfriends. Recently, there are a lot of dating apps. With these apps, people can fill their preferences such as occupations, salary, and educational background to find someone they want to go dating. Since people cannot know other one’s personalities before meeting in person, on this occasion, people tend to judge people by their social status. In Japan, one survey shows that more than 80% of women, who joined dating apps in 2020, answered that they care about their partner’s social status. That’s why I agree that a person’s worth is sometimes decided by some factors like their social status. On the other hand, people still regard old-fashioned values as important. On many occasions, such as hiring new employees, marriage, building a good relationships with new friends, their personalities are more important than their social rank. In fact, demand for famous brand cars, watches and bags are decreasing among young people in the world in the last decades, while many young people spend money on their experience, like travelling abroad with friends. People cannot live without relationships with others. Thus, people still care a lot about a person’s personality. To conclude, though I agree that on some occasions, a person’s worth is judged by their social rank, I think that people still think old-fashioned conscience is more important when they build and develop a relationship with others in society.