Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Studying history is most beneficial in schools while some schools of thought suggest that studying science and technology is more beneficial than history in present times. In this essay, I will be discussing why all subjects are important in their different fields. On the one hand, history is of importance and has its own benefits to individuals and the society at large because it is viewed as a construction of events that has happened and as a result helps people avoid mistakes and makes them aim to improve their performance. It also enables individuals to develop a better understanding of the society in which they live. For example, during the Covid virus pandemic, the history was of great importance, which is its origination and mode of transmission, to help prevent more damage. Knowing the historical background of Sapele town where I reside, I now understand the community and their culture better. On the other hand, the study of science and technology is important in our world today because science has brought solutions to numerous deadly diseases and technology has made communication a lot easier which as a result has improved the quality of life generally. For instance, during the Covid pandemic a lot of scientific research was carried out to reduce or stop the spread of the virus and through this means the use of face masks and hand sanitiser was suggested and then the Covid vaccine was originated. Another example would be the use of our mobile phones and computers which has made research easily accessible. Scientific research can also be done with the use of technical appliances such as a microscope thereby improving the quality of life. In conclusion, although history as a subject of study is important in one's life, science and technology is also beneficial and improves life's quality.