In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

Educating children in an all-girls or an all-boys school is a debatable topic. Globally, many parents have the additional option to choose co-educational schools for their wards. This essay will argue why, despite providing world-class education, a single-gender school is not recommended as such adolescents lack holistic development and do not develop the sensitivity required for the opposite sex. To begin with, in many countries, mono-sex institutions had gained immense popularity a few generations back since the quality of knowledge imparted by them was top notch. Their curriculum not only focused on application-based knowledge but also encouraged sports as a career option. For example, the all-girls Loreto Convent institution in Kolkata has a rich history of churning high-class students who have been extremely successful going ahead in their careers. Therefore, the rationale to continue educating their children in such institutes even today is totally understandable. However, students studying in unisex schools tend to develop introverts and are highly vulnerable to committing gender-based crimes in the future. They do not get a chance to socialise with their opposite gender and as a result, many of them eventually form a shy attitude when confronted with their counterparts. Moreover, they fail to acknowledge the existence of their opposite gender and are susceptible to committing crimes against them. For example, Harvard psychologists have clearly substantiated that a majority of the crimes against women in India are committed by those who have attended an all-boys school previously. Hence, children in unisex institutions fail to develop a gender-sensible mindset and also fail to groom themselves. To conclude, in many countries, parents still prefer unisex schools for their wards. This essay argued why this is a flawed approach in spite of the fact these schools have a rich heritage of providing high-quality education. However, in my opinion, such a thought process is completely preposterous as students in such institutions fail to develop gender sensitivity and are unable to groom themselves for the holistic development required to succeed in the future.