Some people say that there is less communication between family members today than there was in the past. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, talking to a connection in social media are more common rather than having a conversation with those physically around us, which I too believe that the interaction has reduced with our loved ones at home. Firstly, due to escalating living cost, both husband and wife need to work ensuring good quality of life for those under their care. This takes out valuable family time from them, where they will need to spend most of it chasing money. Secondly, children nowadays are being overwhelmed with events after school such as tuitions and extra-curricular activities. All these actions take out the interaction from those under the same roof as they barely meet each and other due to their busy schedules. Furthermore, introduction of gadgets and applications such as smartphones, game consoles, and social media has made youngsters dependable in it. It gives them more excitement rather than sitting in a boring conversation with the people around them. Finally, sharing and conversing with someone in social media gives more freedom, whereas it will be a controlled chat with the family. For instance, a teenager would be comfortable to share a secret with someone from the same age group rather than their parents. In conclusion, parents need to set an example for their kids on showing how important is it to discuss as it will be bad for the relationship if there is no open discussion amongst them. They will need to set aside crucial family time everyday or during the weekend to create a better bonding so that it will not ruin the household.