Today food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Today there is an impending trend that it takes longer for food to be transported from farms to customers. From my perspective, such a tendency can be attributed to both globalization and shrinking farmland, and I am not too optimistic about its ramifications. Firstly, I will see the long transportation of food as a symptom of problems to which the booming globalization is an answer. In the modern world featuring international trade and speedy transport systems, it becomes increasingly commonplace for food grown anywhere could be delivered to other parts of the world, whether it be fruits imported from tropical countries or seafood from coastal areas, both can show up in the grocery stores in a foreign country. Also, even those sold in domestic shops may have also travelled thousands of miles: given the relentless urbanization that encroaches on farming land, governments have to transport food from afar to meet growing demand. As for the implications of long transportation of food, it is difficult for me to see it as anything other than a curse on the environment and food quality. Some may venerate the trend as a manifestation of the boost of international trade and solution to local food shortage; nevertheless, the same cause which is sufficient for blessings could lead to potential pitfalls from a long-term perspective. The first thing to realize is the repercussions for the environment – long-distance transport is a key culprit leading to environmental disruption, be it greenhouse gas emissions or energy exhaustion. Not to be left behind is the threat to food quality – the longer transportation entails the use of preservation technology (e.g. freezing, preservatives, etc.), which undermines the nutritional value of food. From what has been discussed above, it is my conclusion, therefore, food being transported longer distances is the result of both globalization and shrinking farmland, and the repercussions on the environment and food quality concern me more.