Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People today are often bombarded with various advertisements on television, in newspapers, and on running buses or subways. Some claim that the main purpose of advertising is to attract the attention of people towards products and services in order to create needs that they might not have. Generally, I think they have oversimplified the situation, though advertising can be misleading. It is true that most advertisements are designed to create awareness for the target audience to lead to higher sales and acquire new customers. The advertisers seem to have a deep insight into consumers’ psychology and behaviour which are taken advantage of in advertising to make their products whether a piece of clothes or a kind of snack more appealing to the target audience. As a consequence, consumers are very likely to fall prey to whatever is advertised, regardless of price and function. This is especially true with the boom of social media sensation nowadays. Nevertheless, I believe the true needs of modern life are well-known in the age of the Internet, so people are not always dependent on advertisements to be aware of the availability of commodities. Instead, they are expected to compare products according to what commercials introduce and then make a satisfactory purchase. After all, compared with the past, people today do have higher demands from life. What is more, by providing information about the features of the product and service choices offered, advertising generates a net gain in direct sales and indirect sales among different levels of economic activity, as the sales ripple through the whole economy. Therefore, advertising satisfies consumer demand on the one hand and promotes the whole economic development on the other hand. To conclude, although consumers may need to be discreet about what has been advertised in the media, the role of advertising should not be misjudged and underestimated.