Some people think it is better for children to begin to learn a foreign language at primary school that at secondary school. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a current trend for schools to introduce a second language study in a primary school. The idea of learning a new language starting from early years has significant advantages, such as the fact that younger children absorb new language in a similar way they learn to speak on their parent's tongue. Also, primary school children have significantly more free time. Hence learning a second language does not steal time from other subjects. This essay will discuss the stated benefits and drawbacks and conclude whether it is a positive or negative trend for elementary students. First of all, a children's brain can receive and process a significant amount of information effortlessly. To explain that, children start learning their parent's language by simply listening to parents and copying sounds. As a result, the vast majority can easily communicate by the age of four. Thus, with early exposure to a second language, children will learn it similarly to the native one. In addition, the elementary school teaches the only essential subject leaving plenty of time to spend on study and practice of a foreign language. On the other hand, some students can get confused with two different ways of speaking. According to a research study from the University of Alberta, approximately 10 percent of elementary students might get confused studying more than one language. In situations like his, students are showing inferior performance in both tongues throughout the entire length of study. Despite that, researchers are convinced that these students can be as successful as their peers with additional support despite this fact. In conclusion, this essay has discussed the advantages and disadvantages of learning a second language from a younger age. Even though the tendency has a minor drawback, which can be addressed by using extra teachers' support, it can be seen that the young students will benefit from a second language study.