Most large companies nowadays operate multinationally. To what extent multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

It is true that, in this era of globalisation, many big corporations operate outside the confines of national borders. While I agree that they should maximise their profits, I think that they should have social responsibilities where they are based. From a social perspective, big corporations should provide job opportunities for local people and ensure that workers and their families have adequate salaries and access to health and education services. The horrors of the industrial revolution must be avoided - child labour, starvation wages and unhealthy working conditions. Moreover, it is also the self-interest of companies to employ an educated and skilled workforce. Skilled workers are more productive and can be switched from one job to another to meet production requirements, as in the case of car assembly plants such as Fords and Nissan. From an environmental perspective, production processes have caused serious environmental problems. The most important reason is that the irresponsible discharge of chemical wastes into the sea and rivers has resulted in water pollution. Aquatic life, including coral reefs, is sensitive to such irresponsible behaviours. Therefore, multinational firms should increase investment in waste treatment systems to solve chemical wastes instead of discharging them into the rivers. Another reason is that unstainable logging of timber for construction has caused the depletion of natural resources and resultant soil erosion. In addition, local people depend on these sources of energy for their survival, so multinational firms should re-invest their corporate profits to curb pollution and guarantee the long-term prosperity of local communities. In conclusion, although earning profits is the most fundamental principle of companies, they should have a moral duty and a practical interest in improving the living standards in some areas where they conduct their businesses.