The fact that huge amount of money are paid for works of art is unacceptable at a time when many people around the world live in poverty. Discuss this statement and give your opinion?

The growing population in the world is exceeding the food availability that is being produced from various resources. It is argued that more and more money is being paid to art workers although people around the world suffer in poverty which is not acceptable. This essay will discuss this point in detail. In my opinion, I agree with this statement as this is the responsibility of everyone. Government is the sole responsible for helping poor people to overcome poverty. Food is a basic human need and all the citizens around the globe deserve this. The authorities are responsible to make sure that their people get enough food daily even when a crisis happens. One can live without art; however, no one can live without food for more than a day. Moreover, if society suffers from hunger, it is a clear indication of the ruling parties’ failure. For example, a survey conducted in the year 2018 stated that every year more than 1.2 million people are dying because of no meal. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the authorities to pay more attention to poverty than spending a huge amount on art professionals. In my opinion, the responsibility lies with everyone as the individual contribution is also equally essential to support the people around them. Many wealthy individuals spend millions of money to buy artwork from professionals every year to show their status. This money can be well-spent in supporting the neighbouring community those struggling for their daily needs. For instance, rich people can support surrounding orphanages for their day-to-day food requirements. As a result, no one dies without food and society become happier than ever before. In conclusion, although government plays an important role to support poor people and improving their lifestyle, the individual contribution cannot be ignored as many wealthy people should come forward to achieve this. Art contributes to developing society in many ways, but this is not a pressing subject when compared to human lives.