Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on society. To what extent do you agree?

The majority of people has the opinion that social media is doing more bad than good, to society. With the current fast-changing environment, I believe that social networking sites are of great importance as it keeps us connected to our loved ones and provides a lot of opinions and ideas from people that are familiar with us. To begin with, in these covid and lockdown ridden times, when meeting in person is difficult, social media provides a great opportunity to stay connected without friends. For instance, I have not travelled to my home country for the last 2 years but I am well informed about my extended family back home, thanks to our group page on Facebook. We have photos and even videos of all important events properly stored and can be relived when we want to. Another important help that we get from social media is getting specific opinions and ideas. It is easy to get information on the internet, that will coming from an unknown source but with the help of social media, we get ideas from people that matter to us. We can post questions on specific social media page depending on the question and can personalised opinions. If I want to have a review of a particular restaurant before trying it, I can put on a group of foodies and can get all unbiased reviews. Last but not least, social media is also providing an opportunity for community advert making budding entrepreneurs reach for local mass for their products or services, without advertising cost. To conclude, social media is a great way for sharing information, ideas and keeping in touch with our loved ones.