Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some conscientious citizens believe that prices should be increased to pay for high amounts of sugar in various foods and beverages. In my opinion, this particular decision may have a minor impact, but other changes should have led to more improvements. Proponents of this policy argue that it has been effective in the past. This is best known as a result of the high prices of tobacco products in many countries around the world. For example, countries with low prices, such as Indonesia, the Philippines, and India, have much higher smoking rates compared to other countries that were set up for heavy loads. In addition, the income tax has limited effectiveness in relation to food, in many European countries, where sweet-fat products, the more expensive, the more there is a simultaneous decrease in the level of consumption. However, the more visible the implementation of efforts to introduce a luxury tax, the more people are willing to pay to satisfy their addiction and prefer to devote themselves to other areas. They are therefore top-class solutions that could lead to more holistic and integrated government action. This, apparently, can be evidenced by the policy pursued in Japan. From an early age, children were fed healthy food at school and at home, and the state ensured the health of their consciousness through various programs and initiatives that are aimed at various demographic indicators. As a result, sugary foods and beverages occupy a place in society that is noticeably smaller than in countries such as the United States, where the culture is focused on fast food, soft drinks, beverages, and ready-to-eat meals. A more complex approach should not be discounted simply because of the challenges in identifying and evaluating small steps that need to be coordinated and consistently implemented over several years. Summing up, it should be noted that immediate and most effective blocking of price growth is not recommended in comparison with longer-term actions. Therefore, the Government should conduct a long review and communicate them to the general public.