Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, many countries have abolished the death sentence in their laws and a large number of people are starting to wonder what it will be like when there is no the death penalty. People have actually differed about it. I agree with the idea that government should retain the death excution in their law. First of all, capital punishment curbs the crime rate in society because the purpose of the death penalty is not only to punish serious offenders, but also to be the most severe warning for those who intend to commit similar crimes, thus minimizing the repetition of similar crimes in future. For intance, delinquent who create a sensation such as treason, massacre,drug trafficking,... will become an example to deter citizen from following said acts. Furthermore, reducing the num of criminals will in turn improve the safety of the community, therefore creating a safe society where people can best develop in both personality and intelligence. By contrast, there exists some countries without the death penalty but still have a low crime rate. For example, in Norway, instead of punishment, they believe that prisoners should be converted, rehabilitated and restored to dignity. It is a humanitarian policy. Nevertheless, most countries still enforce the capital punishment because they believe that there should be mechanisms to prevent law breaking so that innocent people can live a peaceful life. In conclusion, despite the fact that capital punishment has some disadvantages, I strongly think that it proves to be the best way to control criminals and to indirectly protect model citizens.