In school and universities, girls tend to chose arts while boys like science. What are the reason of this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

In education systems, there is a tendency among female students to study subjects in the humanities and male students to prefer sciences. This can be attributed to the perceptions that society creates and I believe this ought to be changed for the development of society as well as a more fulfilling life for individuals. The primary reason behind the difference between genders in students ' subject choice is the parents' gender stereotyping. Although society has started to acknowledge the stereotypes attached to gender, many parents still encourage their children to pursue different interests according to their gender. Another reason for the trend is media representation. Films and TV shows depict few role models in areas that do not fit the gender stereotypes. For example, a large portion of boys chooses scientific subjects by watching male astronauts in Sci-Fi movies and receiving a science experiment kit as a gift. I strongly feel that we should strive to mitigate this tendency in order to promote social progress and a higher quality of life in individuals. Firstly, this trend hinders growth in society as competent female students are discouraged from entering the workforce in STEM fields. A well-known space agency NASA, for instance, has started hiring more female engineers as many researchers are blaming the fatal accident of the space shuttle 'Challenger' on the lack of diverse workers involved in the project. Furthermore, this trend prevents individuals from pursuing their true interests. So many high school girls in Japan do not take maths classes for fear that they might face isolation. In conclusion, male and female students tend to select different subjects because of the gender stereotypes that still remain in older generations and the entertainment industry. It is my view that this tendency ought to be eliminated so that society would flourish with diverse ideas and aspirational figures in the workforce.