Nowadays, many people use the Internet to get medical advice instead of going to see a doctor. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, technological development has changed the method of diagnosis for patients. People rely on online advice rather than medical professionals' advice. I believe this phenomenon contains some drawbacks, and this essay will determine the reason for this issue. The primary reason for the rising reliance on online medical advice is convenience. Specifically, people can search for their health problems on tablets, phones, and computers at any time. It is way faster than traveling to the doctor's office and making appointments, especially for people with puzzled schedules. Additionally, privacy and confidentiality are considerable elements of this trend. In other words, seeking advice for sensitive health issues on the Internet would be less shameful and awkward than revealing it to medical professionals. For instance, sexual health and mental health, which are sensitive problems, may be hard to share face to face. However, dependence on online medical services results in incorrect diagnoses. To explain that, inaccurate information makes patients think their sicknesses are far more serious than they really are. For example, when searching for headaches on the Internet, people may receive information regarding brain cancer, which causes unnecessary concern. Moreover, many illegal organizations exploit patients who seek advice on the Internet to buy illicit bills. Many people have been scammed when finding medical advice on the Internet and they are told to buy inappropriate medicine. To sum up, people choose online medical advice rather than doctor's advice due to its privacy and convenience. However, this trend may lead to unpredictable problems. I believe people should take appropriate treatments for their health problems.