Increasingly, people eat food from other parts of the world, rather than local food. What do you think is driving this trend? Is this a good or a bad development?

With international trade and globalization, people around the world nowadays can easily access to foreign cuisine. However, they more and more tend to consume food from other regions rather than domestic. Although this phenomenon causes some arguments, we can see more advantages from it than disadvantages. There are two main reasons for the increase of consuming foreign food. Firstly, consumers believe that imported food is safer than food produced locally. They think food from other nations was ensured in terms of the amount of allowed pesticide, especially food from developed countries which was recognized as a food safety condition. Novelty is considered as a second reason. People may feel familiar with local products they have used for years. As a consequence, they show a tendency to purchase a variety of food from different nations that makes them excited and happy when they try something new. In addition, this phenomenon brings lots of merits. First, it can provide us with nutritious meals. Durian, jackfruit and many tropical fruits have a huge amount of nutritions can only be grown well in Asian tropical climate for example. Another benefit is that we can discover cuisine from other parts of the world without going there. For instance, someone in Viet Nam can enjoy spaghetty though they do not go to Italy. In other words, it helps people get closer to various cuisines from all over the world. In short, the safety and novelty of food from other countries contribute to this trend. Besides some demerits, this phenomenon has many merits, it not only allows us to improve our diets but also to have more knowledge of other cultures.