Increasingly, people eat food from other parts of the world, rather than local food. What do you think is driving this trend? Is this a good or a bad development?

In recent years, with the development of globalization in the world, overseas food tends to be purchased more than the domestic one. There are two main factors relevant to this phenomenon which will be discussed in the following paragraph and to my point of view this is a quite negative trend. The first thing driving this tendency is due to the liking of consumers. To put it simply, people are probably familiar or even fed up with food which is conventionally produced, so they are likely to try novel kinds of food from other parts of the world. Sashimi, for example, unlike the Vietnamese foods which are often well cooked, it is made from fresh tuna and salmon with thinly sliced pieces and people can enjoy it directly. Secondly, the psychological factor of consumers plays an important role. This means that people have a belief that food manufactured from overseas countries always has a higher standard compared to domestic food. As a result, they tend to prioritize foreign food rather than traditional food. In terms of this development, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Firstly, on the economic side, when people give priority to foreign food more than local food, the domestic companies will get less profit because a large quantity of local food manufactured is not consumed. Therefore, it will upset the balance between demand and supply. Moreover, not all overseas foods are good for health because nowadays in the market, there are many foods that contain toxic substances such as coloring products or preservatives although they originate from abroad. In conclusion, choosing local food or foreign food depends on the excitement of the consumers. The smart consum