In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the era of extensive research on driverless technology, people have more or less an understanding of unmanned driving. Currently, driverless vehicles are being put into trial in China, and some achievements have been made on the prescribed roads. It seems to me that although there is no question that self-driving vehicles could be an enormous benefit, the demerits of the application of driverless overshadow its merits at present. First of all, the use of driverless cars may exert several social problems. On the one hand, the popularity of autopilot will inevitably make professional drivers lose their jobs by driving business vehicles. It is because that a self-driving lorry without faults can operate continuously and ensure safety for 24 hours, which mean it can produce multiple benefits that human driving is hard to achieve. On the other hand, driverless has also greatly increased car ownership. In other words, according to the characteristics of autopilot, some people who do not have the driving ability may also have this kind of transportation. The number of cars will increase substantially, but this is not always a good thing,which may bring some other problems, such as parking spaces will become more intense. Second, the popularity of driverless also has great potential risks. Autopilot is more like a robot, which is controlled by established procedures and AI chips. For all automated systems, there is always a risk of hacking or crashing because of faults or bugs,by which I mean if hackers can enter the vehicle system, and the car may be controlled to do anything. Moreover, after the accident, it is difficult for us to determine the responsible party of the accident, so that the victims cannot get due compensation. There is no denying that driverless applications can save lives. According to statistics, 90% of road traffic accidents are caused by human errors, including the proportion of distraction, fatigue, drunk driving and speeding. A total of 1 million 300 thousand people are killed every year in the world, with 60 thousand people in China alone, but the self-driving vehicle will eliminate all the accidents caused by human error factors, which will greatly reduce the incidence of accidents. However, all this needs to be built on the basis of the technology improvement of the driverless car itself and its supporting system equipment, such as cameras, navigation, etc., otherwise, driverless driving will bring disaster to people. In conclusion, at present, unmanned driving technology still has more drawbacks than benefits,but if the government and related technology research and development can make further efforts, we believe that this technology can be effectively applied in the future. After all, unmanned driving is the first step for human beings to move towards the AI era.