Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Since many countries, such as Japan and the United States, are facing an ageing population, issues surrounding the elderly community are increasingly debated. In some parts of the world, senior residents may retire whenever they prefer. Although there are both advantages and disadvantages to this policy, I think the risks entailed completely outweigh the benefits. The main benefit of the absence of retirement age is an improvement in the overall well-being of the elderly. They will be mentally healthier working compared to staying at home. Being employed prevents the self-esteem of old people from deteriorating by allowing them to continue contributing to society. Furthermore, interaction with like-minded colleagues at the workplace keeps the seniors from feeling lonely, especially when their children do not often spend time with them. Having an occupation also helps sustains physical health. Physical movements are inherent to some lines of job, such as coaching or performing; and even if the job requires workers to sit in one place, transportation to and from work provides some extra workout for the elderly. By increasing the amount of physical activity carried out by the senior on a daily basis, having a job certainly will help keep them fit and free of ailments. Nonetheless, there are substantial risks to both old people and society at large in the absence of a limit on the working age. It has been shown by scientists across disciplines that certain functions of the mind and body naturally degenerate as humans become older. For instance, psychological research proved that the abilities to encode new memory and to pay attention are lesser in older subjects, and it only takes observation to realize that somatic reflexes are slower in older people. This implies that senior civilians are unfit for most occupations: with *low-risk jobs like teaching and coaching, the consequences may be limited to slipping up during lectures or making mistakes when scoring; but for *high-risk jobs such as ship navigating or policing, being unable to remember, focus and react quickly can easily cost the lives of the elderly themselves as well as their colleagues’ and other civilians. That is to say, regardless of benefits on the individual level for senior citizens, the duration of time a worker is allowed to work should be restricted to prevent regrettable workplace accidents. In conclusion, when the policy of having residents decide the time of their retirement is concerned, the advantages concentrate at the individual level while the disadvantages can potentially affect a whole community. Bearing that contrast in mind, although the seniors in some countries can work to any age that they desire, this is not a model to learn from. In my opinion, the drawbacks certainly prevail, hence the aforementioned nations should reconsider their relevant laws as soon as possible.