Some people think that the high sales of products reflect the power of advertising instead of the consumers' demand. To what extend do you agree or disagree with their opinion?

It is undeniable that in today's consumerist culture, notice play a vital role in the sales number of various products. Therefore, some people argue that ads rather than their actual needs decide citizens' purchases. However, I partly agree with this statement for the following reasons. I agree that advertising encourages customers to buy things and affect their shopping choice to some extent. For example, they prefer to asset the newly released mobile phone by exposing themselves to attractive commercials. The cell phone company uses numerous commercial advertisements to show the improvements and benefits of their updated phones. Consequently, the public will purchase smartphones even if their old ones function well. Moreover, celebrities such as singers or actors in advertisements are significant to the public, especially youngsters. Young generations quickly follow the famous people's preference over clothes, shoes, cars, and cosmetics by watching their advertisements, which boosts their sales. However, I disagree with the idea that consumers are controlled by advertising. Individuals decide their budget on different products based on their income. For instance, modern consumers buy numerous electronic devices not only because of the advertisements but also as they could afford them with enough savings. By contrast, low-income citizens are less likely to buy updated phones even if they watched related advertisements. Besides, contemporary citizens purchase items because of their needs and preference. It is hard to persuade someone by advertising to buy an expensive piano if they are not interested in musical instruments. Also, the public is willing to purchase efficient appliances, such as robot vacuums, wash machines, and intelligent home decorations. Since they genuinely need these items, rather than be affected by advertising, to saved time on household chores and provide a relaxing home for them. In conclusion, advertisements may affect consumers' shopping habits by encouraging them to buy products. However, I believe customers finally choose items to the asset from consideration of their needs and financial status.