Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Tourism has been one of the major service industries that create much money and bring it to local inhabitants and communities. Some people consider it benefits their countries' economies; others think it harms their environment. I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, and this essay will discuss both pros and cons of developing tourism in a country and reasons to support my opinion. The biggest concern about facilitating tourism is a potential environmental problem. For example, many people visit coastal areas, disposing of their garbage on the sand and sea. Many stalls supply tourists with food there, using plastics for packaging and takeaway food containers. However, there are few trash cans there because they may destroy the beautiful scenery of the ocean and beaches. Thus, tourists have no choice to throw away their used plastic litter. Then, the environment of the seas and beaches accumulated with these plastic wastes will worsen because microorganisms in the sand can't decompose them. On the other hand, promoting tourism can stimulate the economy of a country. For instance, tourists can enjoy many restaurants in seaside areas using local fresh fish and aquariums with local marine life. Moreover, the more the tourist areas show and introduce their regional things, the more the tourists get interested in them and spend a lot of money on souvenirs and goods special to the place. Thus, tourist areas can get people to know their place while generating revenue and stimulating a country's economy. Overall, I believe many nations should promote their tourism industry. If they get enough profits from it, they will have enough capital to take measures and tackle the environmental problems.