Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether freedom of choice should be allowed to children or not is a highly controversial topic in the society. Some section of the society believes that if children are given liberty in taking decision regarding the day-to-day activities it is possible that they will centralize themselves, while others are of the belief that it is significant to give children the privilege to take their own decision. I opine with the latter view. On one hand, some people think that if a child is given excessive freedom to choose about everyday matters, it is likely that it will result in individualism. It is true that if children are not guided at an early age about the matters like what to eat or what to wear and which shows to watch, than they will have a negative impact on their personality and he or she will become selfish and will not think about the consequences resulting out of the act performed by them. As a result, they will grow up to be a self centric person. For instance, In the western countries parents allow their children to take own decisions and don't guide them, hence, children tend to not obey and they do not think about other's opinion. On the other hand, many people believe that children should be given freedom to choose and act. It is necessary for the parents to allow their children to take decision after a certain age as it will make them think out of the box and make them feel confident in their life. For example, if parents have exercised reasonable control on the child at their developmental stage then they will possess important leadership skills like decision making. To conclude, though majority of the people think that children should be kept in control and not allowed to take necessary decision I believe that as a human being they should have the freedom of choice and at the same time they should be under the supervision of their guardians.