In some countries criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Showing criminals on the media is considered an effective method and a part of the punishment process in some nations. However, this procedure could also have negative impacts. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this issue and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of the media coverage of criminal actions include fewer crimes, its potential and more awareness among the population. Firstly, convicts are afraid to be illustrated on TV, as they do not want to be known in this way. Furthermore, potential criminals also could change their minds by observing the consequences. For example, a person who wants to participate in a burglary would soon give up, since he is aware of the corresponding punishment. Secondly, by showing the methods of taking these actions and the way they have taken place, people will become aware and conscious. Therefore, it is less probable to get stuck in such situations. Even if they do, they can readily confront it. This awareness could in turn enhance safety in society. Considering both aspects, it is apparent that giving information about lawbreakers has positive impacts on the public, which could not be ignored. Despite the advantages, this issue also has shortcomings that the utmost one is its side effects on the soul. Watching cruelty and so much violence can easily become a societal norm and awaken the sinister souls of some people. That is why watching action films are restricted for people aged under 15 due to its destructive effects on their personalities. In fact, normalizing violent actions would ultimately increase crime rates and lessen safety. This way, not only presenting these items are not beneficial, but also are destructive. In conclusion, although covering criminals and their illegal acts in the news could result in the more safe society by promoting public awareness, it could subsequently affect the minds. However, this phenomenon can be limited by adding some psychological content to programs. All in all, the benefits seem to outweigh the demerits.