A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. What extent do you agree.

Some people believe that authority has to ensure public safety by increasing funds and spending on the military, at the expense of social welfare. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea, the welfare of society comes in the first place of government duty, unless there is a direct threat to the nation's security. In this essay, I will discuss my point of view in detail. It is a mission for every government to ensure the welfare of their citizens, by giving social support to people in need, and it will help to decrease crime and antisocial behaviour in the community. For example, In Saudi Arabia, there is monthly support for poor families and unemployed youth. As a result crime rate in KSA is low, which makes it a safe country for it is population. On the other hand, social benefits prevent nations from falling into social and political unrest that may end with civil war. which happened many times throughout history when governors cared less about the well-being of their individuals and focused all their energy and resources on wars with neighbour countries. For example, the Russian Revolution rose because the majority of the population fell into poverty and hunger without having a helping hand from their ruler. Therefore helping people in time of need is important to have social and political stability. In conclusion, I believe social benefits have a direct link to lowering the crime rate and keeping the country away from political and social unrest, which leads to making the country safe. And it is not less important than defending the land from an outside enemy.